Reflection | Poetry

Reflection, that’s the name of the game
Put my words onto paper before I go insane
Just tryna share my thoughts and  what I feel inside
So please come on board, and please enjoy the ride

So coming out straight I’m bringing my perspective
To encourage and uplift is my directive
Opening blind eyes and awakening souls
To go against the flow of society’s mould

So first things first I think I move too fast
But funnily enough I’m actually ending up in last
So even though I do so much in my life
I can’t focus, so don’t have the right sights

Everything gets blurry when you don’t stop to think
Stories, emotions and knowledge go by in a blink
So please take your lens and switch it to corrective
Stop for a second and start to be reflective

Yo, just stop and think
Yo, just stop and think
Yo, just stop and think
Just take a second and just stop to think

And don’t get me wrong, I love to hustle
But the symptoms it shows, man it ain’t subtle
Like long, dark eye bags and sagging cheeks
Fatigued and drained, definitely not at my peak

Producing and creating again and again
It’s a real big drain and just hurts my brain
People say “work hard, it’ll be for the best”
But honestly sometimes, the best is in the rest

You get to stop and see the good and the bad
You get to stop and see what makes you glad
You get to stop and see your art grow
Improving each day as you learn to flow

So I’m pleading to you and I’m saying it again
You gotta reflect and make sure not to neglect
The time you have to just stop and think
Before you get pushed straight to the brink

Yo, just stop and think
Yo, just stop and think
Yo, just stop and think
Just take a second and just stop to think

Now I’m bringing it home, with the third and last verse
Gotta share my opinion, gotta keep it diverse
Cause with a God so big, I can’t help but say
That I live for Him, cause He lights the way

And I’m being really honest, I’m being really frank
Gotta give Him all the glory, gotta give Him the thanks
And that ain’t gonna happen, without stopping to think
He’s the pen to my paper, He’s my spiritual ink

He’s the words I write
He’s my source of life
He’s the one true King
And the beat kicks in

Yo, just stop and think
Yo, just stop and think
Yo, just stop and think
Just take a second and just stop to think

2016
Popo
Blazo
Reflection

Leave a Reply

